© DC Comics / Used without permission
Origin: Birthright
Real Name: Eve Eden
First Appearance: Captain Atom (vol.2) #82 [Charlton/DC Comics, September 1966]
                            Character created by Joe Gill and Steve Ditko


Prowess 3 {Average}
Coordination 5 {Good}
Strength 4 {Fair}
Intellect 3 {Average}
Awareness 3 {Average}
Willpower 5 {Good}

Stamina 9
Determination: 1


Martial Arts Expert


Alternate Form (Shadow) 6 {Great}
Darkness Control 8 {Amazing}
       Shadow Constructs
       Supersenses (Infravision)
       Teleport (Limit: Transmit, darkness and shadows)
Dimensional Travel (Limit: Land of the Nightshades, no test needed) 1 {Weak}


. CIA agent posing as shallow jet-setter.
. Her Shadow Constructs normally take shape of homunculi who try to help her or two shadow ravens  to serve as scouts for her; she has named them Hugin and Munin after the legendary ravens belonging to the Norse deity Odin.
. Her teleportation requires her to pass through the now barren and haunted Land of Nightshades. 

Points: 70


When Eve was a child, her mother revealed to Eve and her brother Larry that she was really a princess from the Land of the Nightshades, and had come to Earth while escaping from the evil Incubus. Magda showed her children, who had inherited the ability to cross drimensions through shadows, how to use that power to travel to the Land of the Nightshades. While there, they were attacked by Incubus' flying warriors, who stabbed Magda, giving her a fatal wound. Larry was kidnapped, but Eve escaped by changing to shadow-form and transporting both herself and her mother back to Earth, where Magda died. Eve made a promise to her mother that she would return to rescue Larry someday.

After her mother's death and brother's disappearance, Eve's father moved them to Japan, where Eve began her self-imposed training by studying martial arts, becoming especially proficient in karate. She hid her training from her father, and after becoming the C.I.A. operative known as Nightshade, she continued to hide her double-life from him. To him, she is only a shallow jet-setter with no worries.

As Nightshade, she works for the C.I.A. as a "spy-smasher", exposing and apprehending foreign agents, and has often paired up with Captain Atom. Her ultimate goal is to reach a level of training where she can return to the Land of the Nightshades to rescue her brother.

Thank you, John McMullen for your clever (Qualities are tough to articulate, thanks!) and point-shaving input. Converted characters, most of the times, unavoidably exceeds the 45-point limitation that the ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying Game core book recommends. Character revised according to rules presented in ICONS Great Power book. Streamlined, once again, according to ICONS Superpowered Roleplaying: The Assembled Edition.


John McMullen said...

Very nice. Not much of that came through in the only thing I read her in (Shadowpact), but I know that's in her history.

You could maybe lower the amount of Alternate Form (I've never seen it, so maybe an 8 is reasonable).

On a strictly point-shaving side, because she can only go one place with the Dimensional Travel, you could lower it to (say) Dimensional Travel 1 Extra: No test needed. (ICONS:TAE mentions the extra in the Dimensional Travel writeup.) That saves some points. Her ability to move between worlds is, say, a consequence of the fact that she is born of two worlds.

The Quality CIA Agent might be "CIA agent posing as shallow jet-setter" -- that would give her (as a player character) access to the money that Eve has.

But over all, very nice. (I've always been fond of the Shadowpact characters, especially Blue Devil in his original's where our gaming group stole the term "weirdness magnet".)

Fabrício César Franco said...


Your input is very welcome. Consider the changes done!

Thank you!!!

John McMullen said...

Hmmm. I can't get that point value.

Abilities total 23 points. Specialties total 3 points.

Under Powers, the Alternate Form and the extra are 6+6=12 points.

Darkness control is a power (8) plus an extra power (extra: effect, or 8 points), plus an extra power (another 8). The cost of the last extra is cancelled out by the limit on the power, so it ends up costing 0. So that's 24 points.

Dimensional travel is 1 (again, the cost of the extra is cancelled out by limit). So that makes her total cost for powers 12+24+1, or 37 points.:

23+3+37=63 points

What have I forgotten in the rules? (I assume I've forgotten something, because I think you've read the rules more carefully than I have.)

Fabrício César Franco said...


You're right. My math's wrong. I forgot to cancel the powers with limits!

Thanks again!

Post a Comment

(c) Fabrício César Franco 2015. Powered by Blogger.